A Little Goes a Long… long… way…

My first week of hospital duty had finally come into an end yesterday at around 1pm. And to be really honest, it was tough and toxic and tiring, but I was really really happy to be there! 🙂

The first day of handling a patient was the toughest. Any first day of first things that ever do in your life has always been the toughest right? I was still getting the hang of me being a nurse that should be taking care of my post operative patient that gave birth to a healthy baby girl through cesarean section. I was really lucky that she was nice, and her mother and husband too. I was really nervous to come inside their room for the first time! Imagine me standing in front of their room for about 2 minutes or so practicing what I’m supposed to say and actually preparing myself for the worst! LOL But everything turned out to be fine, and the next day she was already out of the hospital. 🙂 And lucky me, everything happened to my next patient. 🙂

Oh, and let me tell you, the nurses there was nice as well, and they took us along to observe and do special procedures that we rendered ourselves!

First, the nurses thought me how to administer an NGT feeding.

Second, an orthopedic doctor thought us how to make a four solution for irrigation of severely infected wounds most commonly used for diabetic patients.

Third, I assisted in removing an indwelling catheter to a mother who had just given birth and rendered perennial care.

Fourth, my group mate tagged me along to her patient who was having blood transfusion and thought me how to regulate and attach it to an IV line. And her patient was an old man that was really really nice and sweet.

Fifth, the orthopedic doctor asked us to assist him in cleaning a diabetic foot that actually left my group mates’ mouths open.

Also, I have learned a lot of things about myself and about life.

I have never really thought that I would do good in making conversations to people I don’t know. To be honest, some of my classmates actually thinks that I am an antisocial kind of person, though I’m just not used of talking or chatting with not so close friends and all. Though to patients in the hospital, I was really good. Maybe I should tell my classmates to become patients so I will talk to them just the same? LOL

Though, what amazes me the most is how much appreciative people can be. When you ask them how they are feeling, or when you just touch them, or just give a smile, and tell them to get better, you would see in their faces, especially in their eyes, that you made them happy, like you are the most caring persoon in the world! And the next time you enter into the room, you would be surprised that the patient was already waiting for you to come. 🙂

I have learned that in life you just have to have compassion, to care for the people who needs you, and be just human. Sometimes, when you can do nothing to alleviate their pain or condition, just being there makes everything alright. You don’t have to move mountains to touch the lives of people, you just have to have a heart, and a little of it goes a long, long way! 🙂

About piapot

I am the author. Neurotic sister is a being who likes expressing herself and challenging herself up to her limits! she wants to conquer her own fears and works hard to get what she wants and what she deserves.
This entry was posted in Ay Nars!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Little Goes a Long… long… way…

  1. philos says:

    Wow! That was a lot to experience in your first week! Good for you! And congratulations for making it through all the toxicity! The journey of a thousand miles begin with the first step. 🙂

    • piapot says:

      thank you! 🙂 and I will post some pictures of my capping by the time I had them transferred.. tc!

  2. bw says:

    good luck on a noble profession. You are making a real difference in people’s lives 😉

  3. EngendA says:

    hmmm, great post

Leave a Reply

