What I have learned…

Piapot is still in awe… ๐Ÿ™‚

I was assigned to do field work for our student publication for the 5th Philippine Bird Festival held at Balanga City, Bataan last October 8-10. And honestly, I wasn’t really that ecstatic about the fact that I will do it the first time my mentor have told me to do so.

First, I was 100% sure that people will be flooding all corners of the streets. If I haven’t blogged about it, I do have a little thing about crowding, sort of a mild claustrophobia (I can’t stand a trip inside an elevator for a long time!). Second, it will be very tiring because I have to run around and take some pictures to cover the event. And third, I have to interview big people, which is not really a bad idea, though what I was really worried about it is that they would be really hard to find and would be hesitant to be interviewed. But…

Piapot was W-R-O-N-G.

The event was a blast. I really never imagined that I would really have a good time covering the event. Yes, I was tired from all of the running and walking plus carrying the EOS 500D DSLR. But it was all worth it.

People were flooding the streets during the parade, but it wasn’t that hard for me to go around and take some shots. I was also able to interview big people, like Ace Durano, Department of Tourism Secretary; Mike Lu, president of the Wild Birds Club of the Philippines; Mr. Robert Brinks, Ambassador of the Netherlands; and of course our city mayor, Mr. Joet Garcia; and have fun with a lot of bird enthusiasts from all over the world not to mention hanging around with great bird watchers and photographers

Sir Alain Pascua and Sir Jun Onas! And the best part about it is that they were really warm and welcoming, aside from the fact that they are brilliant people who cares not only for bird watching and the conservation of birds, but the conservation of the environment and the ecosystem as a whole, educating the public of its importance and its life contribution to mankind.

Photo by Sir Alain Pascua

this photo is by Sir Alain Pascua

What I really can’t forget about this fact is that these people from all around the world came to Balanga City, in the far off place of province of Bataan, with no personal interests, no ego tripping, no manipulation, no corruption, but just one caring voiceย  –ย  “Preserve what’s left.Replace what’s lost. Love Birds. Love animals. Love the environment.”

With the purpose of the 5th Philippine Bird Festival to raise awareness about the conservation of the planet and its animals, I do believe that it was attained with flying colors. Why? Because before, I am reallynot fund of birds, but after 2 days and a half, I love them already. I am an advocate of the preservation of the environment and animals way before, though I am raising the level a little bit higher now by volunteering for the reforestation of Bataan. ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s love the environment. Not so much is left of our lands. Let us be one for its conservation. So that for the next generations to come, children will still be able to be in awe of how beautiful this world is. ๐Ÿ™‚

About piapot

I am the author. Neurotic sister is a being who likes expressing herself and challenging herself up to her limits! she wants to conquer her own fears and works hard to get what she wants and what she deserves.
This entry was posted in neurotic me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I have learned…

  1. Alain Pascua says:

    Dear Pia,

    What a wonderful article and blog you have here!

    It is nice to have met you during the 5th Philipine Bird Festival in Balanga, Bataan last week.

    I am providing you hereunder my websites/photosites where pictures of the bird festival and pictures of various Philippine Wild Birds taken in their natural habitat can be located and viewed.

    http://www.alainpascua.multiply.com – where low resolution pictures can be viewed and links can be located.
    htpp://www.alainpascua.smugmug.com – where high resolution pictures can be viewed, shared and downloaded (the festival is under Events gallery).
    http://www.facebook.com/alainpascua – where links can be viewed and shared.

    My warmest regards and good luck to your endeavors!

    Looking forward to meeting you again in the near future.

    Alain Del B. Pascua
    Member, Wild Bird Club of the Philippines (WBCP) – http://www.birdwatch.ph
    Member, Philippine Bird Photography Forum (PBPF) – http://birdphotoph.proboards.com
    President, KAAKBAY
    +639194985887
    alainpascua@gmail.com, kaakbay@gmail.com

    • piapot says:

      You’ve found my blog. haha I really did enjoy hanging around with you too. honestly, I have learned a lot by just listening around and observing all of you. ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for sharing your photos. I hope to see you again some other time! God bless and be safe!

  2. chiquesan says:

    danda bird!!!

Leave a Reply

